Go Back   Archer's Choice Media Forums > Hunting Forums > Archers Choice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2008, 05:28 PM
bullmoose38's Avatar
bullmoose38 bullmoose38 is offline
Moose
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pine Grove, PA
Posts: 2,590
Default Do you retire your arrow after a kill?

Just curious if anyone else does this. After a kill I retire the arrow and head.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2008, 05:47 PM
indiana boy's Avatar
indiana boy indiana boy is offline
Antelope
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West Central Indiana
Posts: 118
Default

I sure do!!
__________________
Live to Hunt, Hunt to Live
HOOSIER H.I.T SQUAD Team Member
www.hoosierhitsquad.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2008, 06:14 PM
TLC's Avatar
TLC TLC is offline
Caribou
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: southern, Il
Posts: 640
Default

used to retire the arrow. but that was because it was an aluminum arrow and usually ended up bent. since I started the carbons, only if the critter lays on it if it doesn't go thru. always retire the broadhead.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2008, 06:44 PM
Monie's Avatar
Monie Monie is offline
Moose
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kokomo, In.
Posts: 3,596
Default

Nope. Now, if I was rich, that'd be another story.

I do check for wear and cracks. If I find any I do "retire" the arrow.
__________________
If you're not leaning, no one can let you down.

http://www.huntsd.net/

http://www.beesource.com/forums/index.php

http://www.purgatoryironworks.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2008, 09:52 PM
HurricaneCreek's Avatar
HurricaneCreek HurricaneCreek is offline
Black Bear
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Douglas/Clark County, IL
Posts: 384
Send a message via MSN to HurricaneCreek
Default

It's retired only if it is damaged. If not, it becomes the lucky arrow
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:16 AM
youngbuck83's Avatar
youngbuck83 youngbuck83 is offline
Caribou
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 696
Default

I use them till they break....Last year I killed a coyote and my buck w/ the same arrow. As for the heads...just replace the blades, gotta love spitfires!
__________________
Hoyt Katera
70lbs/27in.
Beman MFX
NAP Spitfires
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:34 AM
danbear's Avatar
danbear danbear is offline
Muley
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sheboygan, Wi
Posts: 26
Default arrow retirement

only if I'm going to mount it. Here's a pic!!turkey mount 007.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2008, 05:31 PM
travis25 travis25 is offline
Whitetail
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 24
Default

sure do. the head too. I always write how far the shot was and the what it was i shot.
__________________
Travis >>---->
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2008, 08:46 PM
webb12420 webb12420 is offline
Antelope
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 105
Default

I retire the arrow and broadhead, too.
__________________
Experience the hunt through the eyes of a child.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-14-2008, 07:12 AM
farmcntry's Avatar
farmcntry farmcntry is offline
Black Bear
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 311
Default

I reuse them until I can't anymore.
__________________
Youth Outdoor Connection
www.youthoutside.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump