Old 02-16-2009, 07:16 AM
Whitetail

Default I need a starting point...

Found a set of nice sheds last year during T season and wanted to try and shoot this buck this year. As you can probably tell I am new to the 'scout, pattern and kill one buck'. I am not however without skills and woodsmanship. I am mostly a spot and stalk kind of guy.. So my question is where do I start and then follow up. The sheds were found on the edge of the thick river bottoms and an orchard (walnut)road. Also it is public land and I'm not sure how long a trail cam would last out there.
Anything would be a start. Thanks R, V and Posse!
Old 02-16-2009, 08:57 AM
Musk Ox

Without trail cameras your lookin at alot of time in the field....

Need to find his core bedding area....
Slick Trick 85 grain
HHA Single Pin Sights
Old 02-21-2009, 04:34 PM
Muley

The very best thing you can do is try and locate his bedding area and understand that you are hunting public land, us that to your advantage...He has an escape route that he uses when other hunters come into his territory you need to find that and set up there. Allow the other hunters to do your job by bumping him as they go to there stand and as he gets up and takes his safe passage way out you are there waiting to stop him. Many times I would hunt near the parking lots of teh public grounds I used to hunt, why???? Simple when more of the hunters went to there stands, go impatient they would start to make noise, move around and go check out new areas and the deer knew where it was safe...I actully shot one of my first really good bucks less than 30 yards from parked trucks & cars in teh parking lot of a state park here in IL...The mature deer would sneak out to the open grass and bed down until the pheasent hunters came by...Just ask teh field guys how many times they kick up the big bucks in public land while bird hunting, you will see how true this is. Find his escape route and you will find him.
Old 02-21-2009, 08:32 PM
Black Bear