Old 10-11-2008, 02:38 PM
Antelope

Default Raccoon Trapping Questions

Well, I just got my trappers safety done with this year, and I was wondering if anyone has any tips on trapping raccoons. I have 12 160 conabears and 6 Lil' Griz traps.
Thanks!

2009 count
1 bear (bow)
1 turkey (20 gauge)

www.bigwoodstaxidermy.com
www.bigbearscents.com
Old 10-12-2008, 05:23 AM
Moose

I am no trapping expert. Im sure Adam will be on here and give you some good tips. My favorite and simple setup I put aluminum foil on the pan of the trap and set it in shallow water. This works well for me.
Old 10-13-2008, 02:22 PM
Caribou

Look for trails leading into corn fields, some maybe deer trails, but that doesn't mean coons aren't using them. Pay particular attention to the trails that look like tunnels coming out of brush. Look for tracks and scat.

Look for trails running parallel to streams as well, particularly at the top of a steep bank and also along the waters edge where a sand or gravel bar peters out to a steep bank. That will force them into the water where the bar runs out. Put in a blind set there for sure!

Any place that you determine is good enough for 1 set, put in at least 3. If it's LOADED with sign and you immediately think "I need at least 3 sets here!", put in 5-6. Coons travel in groups alot and want to have traps ready to catch them when the come through!

You're going to get the occasional oppossum, muskrat, mink, and maybe even a fox, plus incidentals (cats, dogs, squirrels, etc) in some of your traps, and you don't want them "plugging up" all your steel when the coons come through.