Archer's Choice Media Forums

Archer's Choice Media Forums (http://www.archerschoicemedia.com/forum/index.php)
-   Behind the Lens (http://www.archerschoicemedia.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Need help with camera settings! (http://www.archerschoicemedia.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1130)

bullmoose38 05-27-2008 09:02 AM

Need help with camera settings!

1 Attachment(s)
I dont know much about photography and what my settings should be with a still camera. Here is an example what settings would yo mess with to make this pic look good and not in a shadow. Thanks for the help!

firediver 05-27-2008 07:08 PM

What type of camera are you using??? Fully auto? Digital SLR?

Get closer to the subject and have him tip his hat back. Use a flash if you have one because it will override the sunlight and may help eliminate shadows.

Taking pictures in the bright sun can be a challenge. Maybe try to take the photo in the shade.

I'm no expert and this is "all I got" for ya'

PS....frame-focus-steady applies to still photography as well.

firediver 05-27-2008 07:13 PM

1 Attachment(s)
One more thing.....you have the sun hitting the subject from the side. You should have the sun in his face. This would eliminate a lot of shadows. Just make sure your shadow isn't in frame.

As far as framing, I would pull in more like this.............

PS....don't worry, he shoots enough turkeys for you to get plenty of practice:)

bullmoose38 05-27-2008 07:37 PM

Thanks for the tips firediver. I will just have to play around with it a little more.

Monie 05-27-2008 07:47 PM

Kelly agrees with Firediver. She also said since everything is brown, it would have been better to put the bird on grass for contrast. If you're using film, go with 400 to 800. The higher the speed, the grainier it is. She said she usually uses 800. If it's digital, go with an outdoorsy mode.

bullmoose38 05-27-2008 07:51 PM

Thanks Monie im using a digital camera.

Colorado Rick 05-27-2008 09:52 PM

Quote: